AAUP-KSU is the Kent State University chapter of the American Association of University Professors. At the national level, the AAUP is known for its work in promoting positive academic values and shared governance, as well as protecting faculty against attacks on tenure and academic freedom. AAUP-KSU shares those interests and also serves as the collective bargaining agent for all full-time faculty at Kent State University. First established in 1978, there has been an AAUP chapter at Kent State for forty (40) years.

Our local chapter of AAUP serves as your “union” and is responsible for negotiating the terms and conditions of employment for all full-time faculty at KSU’s eight campuses. The KSU chapter has two bargaining units: the FTNTT unit that represents the Full-Time Non Tenure Track faculty and the TT unit that represents the Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty. Each bargaining unit independently negotiates its own, unique Collective Bargaining Agreement every three years. Each of these agreements encompasses a wide array of salary and benefit provisions, grievance and appeal procedures, and outlines the fundamental principles for shared governance at Kent State University at the department, school, college, and campus levels.

While you are not required to be a member of AAUP-KSU to share in the benefits of collective bargaining, we hope that you will consider that option. Members provide ideas, leadership and financial support to the organization. Membership also entitles you to an active voice in determining the issues and priorities established for negotiations and to voting rights with regard to contract issues. Membership in AAUP-KSU includes membership in the national AAUP and the Ohio Conference AAUP. Membership forms may be downloaded directly from the site.

We are pleased to continue our tradition of service to faculty, and we hope to hear from you with your comments, concerns and suggestions for the future of the Association. Feel free to contact us – we look forward to hearing from you soon!


Deborah C. Smith
Chapter President, TT Unit
Sue Clement
President, FT NTT Unit